Current Needs:

Updated February, 2023

  • Saturday pm needed
  • Friday morning needed
  • Some Sunday mornings and general substitutes also needed

About Us

Hi! I’m chronically ill and disabled, and looking to bring more folks who will love my animals into our circle of community support. I’m mostly housebound, and mostly bedbound due to the increase in severity of my illnesses. We need folks who would enjoy going on walks with a slow geriatric dog, feeding the dog and cat, and connecting with a neighbor. Folks should be comfortable with the less glamourous parts of the aging process. Marigold has some mild dementia, which is leading to some accidents in the house that need to be cleaned up, and food needs that shift.  We’re not far from the Gimme Coffee on Cayuga St in Ithaca.

It’s not paid.

We’re looking for folks who will find it valuable in and of itself, and will enjoy connecting with us as a touch point in their week.

“Marigold, Sadie, and Rebecca are the best! Marigold and Sadie are so sweet, calm, and remarkably well-behaved. Rebecca makes the pet care as easy as it could possibly be with clear routines and communication. When I’m able to comfortably fit this pet care into my schedule, it is a joy.” – Veronica

You may well already know Marigold, a sweet maybe 13 year old girl who is often mistaken for a golden retriever, and is walked by lots of different people. She’s been in the neighborhood since 2014, and made friends with a lot of folks. Marigold is a dream on a leash. She does not pull. She is sometimes avoidant (does not like loud construction noises and might turn around), but never reactive or aggressive.

I also have a beautiful long-haired calico/tortie cat named Sadie. She is friendly, curious and snuggly.

They are the best.

It works well for folks to commit to an ongoing shift (or shifts), and we often trade or use respite folks when someone isn’t available for their regular shift. But we also have use for folks who can just step in as part of the respite team when others need to cancel.

“Even though I worked with Rebecca for many years, we never got to know each other. Now I feel like we could talk for hours! Making a new friend is wonderful.”

“Marigold is very comfortable holding a leadership position. I think that’s why I call her ‘Chief.'” – Diane

“The thing about Diane is that she is easily led. But I like that in my humans.” – Marigold

Pet Care Times and Tasks

We use an online platform called SignUp for shift management. It is helpful if you have an email address and a smart phone, but not required.
Morning Shifts: Start at your convenience between 8:30-9:30 am
MarigoldWalk as she directs and you are willing, 10-60 minutes. Marigold now has mild dementia and sometimes has accidents in the house. Check for and clean up.
Food and water on return. Food takes a little time to prep.
SadieWet food with fish oil.
Scoop litter box.
RebeccaMake a cup of coffee
Evening Shifts: At your convenience between 5-6:30 pm
MarigoldShort walk as she directs. 5-20 minutes.
Marigold now has mild dementia and sometimes has accidents in the house. Check for and clean up.
Food and water on return. Food takes a little time to prep
SadieWet food.

“Marigold and Sadie are the sweetest and Rebecca has become a trusted friend. I walked into pet care duty not having known Rebecca, and I’m so glad I took the chance. Sadie is affectionate and a little goofy. Marigold is as sweet as advertised, and already has her favorite routes charted across Fall Creek. Walking with her a few times a week helped me get to know my new neighborhood and make it feel more like home. For someone who doesn’t have a dog, I’ve particularly loved the warm welcome Marigold gives me when I come to take her for a walk!” – Melanie

COVID-19 is NOT Over for US

There are about a dozen people in and out of the house each week. This is a necessary support system as someone who is disabled. But it brings with it my only exposure risk for COVID. Due to my health conditions, I’m at risk for severe impact if I contract COVID, and every person who comes here needs to take this seriously.


  • Stay home if there is any chance you are sick (with anything), and if you have reason to believe you could have been exposed to COVID19
  • We will tell you if there is a chance anyone here could be sick
  • Wear a high quality mask such as N95, KN95, at all times in my home
  • Anyone in the house – me, my roommate, my aide – will wear a mask at all times if anyone else is here
  • Disinfect or wash your hands when you enter the house (hand sanitizer is provided at the door)
  • Disinfecting wipes are available for your use if you would like to wipe down surfaces such as the leash, or fridge handle

Get in Touch

Does this feel like something that might be a good fit for you? Are you available for currently open shifts? Available for fill-in shifts? Available in the future? Drop me a line to let me know.